Thomas Tuchel scolds Skysports reporter for calling VAR penalty decision “intervention”

Thomas Tuchel scolds Skysports reporter for calling VAR penalty decision “intervention”

Chelsea manager, Thomas Tuchel puts the Skysports reporter in a proper position as he scolds him for insinuating that the decision by referee Stuart Attwell was an “intervention” to save Chelsea from losing.

A scuffle in the penalty box after Mendy punched an Anthony Martial free-kick led to a fight for the ball in mid-air led to Chelsea’s Callum Hudson Odoi being adjudged not to have handled the ball in the scuffle that involved Reds player, Mason Greenwood.

Speaking after the match, the Skysports reporter, who was seeking his (Thomas Tuchel) opinion on the game, mentioned that the referee’s decision to go against the VAR was an intervention and it was against this backdrop that Thomas Tuchel scolds him for using that word.

 

READ THIS AS WELL: VIDEO: Ole Gunner Solksjaer Broods Over Penalty Decision By VAR That “Saved” Chelsea

 

“How can this be an intervention? The player in red plays the ball with his hand and then we are checking for a penalty. Why does the referee have to see this? You watch it for one second on the pad, or you watch it on the field live and then I see it on the pad, why does the referee need to see this?” he quizzed.

However, Tuchel also maintained that had it been given, it would have been worse, albeit he was happy it wasn’t given.

Tuchel scolds skysports reporter over VAR question

Image showing Callum Hudson-Odoi (right) handling the ball in mid-air.

“He does everything right, I don’t understand why he needs to check it but I’m glad it’s no penalty because that would be even worse.”

 

READ THIS AS WELL: 84-Year-Old Grandmother Is Excited Her Dogs Can Perform Better In Bed Than Her Husband After They Die Of Viagra Overdose

EPL: Tuchel slams referee for checking VAR after Hudson-Odoi's handball -  Tripale

Referee Stuart Attwell consulting VAR over penalty claims

On the other hand, Manchester United coach, Ole Gunner Solksjaer has reacted to the controversial penalty decision by the VAR in today’s match against Chelsea in the 14th minute claiming it had taken two points away from them.

In an exclusive interview with Skysports, Ole Gunner Solksjaer revealed that VAR was unfair to them. According to Solskjaer, it was a clear handball that could have added two extra points giving them a win over Thomas Tuchel’s side.

SOURCE: OBCOMMUNICATION.COM SPORTS DESK

Facebook Comments
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap